Tie And Jeans

ColleaugeGPT – Conversationally Bespoke Context

tl;dr I’m playing with GPT again this year. I’m going to share those chats as I go.

Planning Transcript – updated La Diada 2023

I don’t think of myself as particularly immersed in AI. Though bald and currently bearded, I lack the mirror-shades and attitude of a recognizable cyberpunk protagonist1. It feel the rising tides of AI changing the beach around me, but… everyone must feel that, right? Everyone must be shifting their weight, using the mundane utility that Zvi catalogs so well, while managing their own dread cycles and spirals.

This is how I have felt so many times since my first 2400bps modem. That seems early now, but it wasn’t off-hook micro-couplers. Something about that world has a way of making sure everyone who arrives knows they came in just too late to be interesting. All the easy stuff has been done, and the other problems are impossible.

In 99% of rooms, I am way way more into Magic than any other adult. But that also means that I know that Zvi exists, so I would never suggest that I was “serious” about Magic.

So I’m going to try and adjust my priors and assume that I might know more than my colleagues about how to teach and plan with LLMs/GPT4 in the same way I know more about two-person draft formats. I can share the game with my friends while knowing that I don’t have the skills to top 8 the Winston Invitational.

Ugh. It’s Sunday. School has started and I still need to meet a bunch of kids.


So, I sat in the cafe and tried to run through my script and patter. I needed someone to talk to and plan with, and so I turned to my robot friend.

I just saw the addition of context frames into the GPT4 system, which has incredible potential (especially for creating bespoke student experiences around texts). But I grew up in a high-speed text environment and have spent 20 years trying to improve both direct instruction and conversational redirection. I can establish context in conversation.

  1. Although CS teacher is not generally considered “dramatic”, I have hopes that Cory Doctorow can follow the fantastic Red Team Blues cycle with increasingly ancillary cyber nor professions. I remember several old internets and help build a new, good internet! ↩︎

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment