Tie And Jeans

TeachMeet at SnapCon

After the InspiritAI camp ended, I stayed in Barcelona for another full week and change to catch SnapCon at Citilab in Cornella. For the last few lock down years, SnapCon has been a spring/summer online event that delivered 2-4 amazing new projects/tools from Bernat or Jens or Jagda. Having three whole days to get those same new projects, but also have long days and unstructured lunches to sit and chat with the experts building the best tools for modern computing education (Mark Guzdial!) and those who built the entire space computer education inhabits (Brian Harvey!)

One of the benefits of having a conference in town is that I can make human decisions about how to interact with the event without drowning in an internal avalanche of “social should-of.” Instead, I’ve been able to find spaces in the event that are comfortable (lots of watching events from quiet conference rooms on Zoom, instead of packing around the back of the auditorium), and engage fully in surprising conversation emerges about network SimCity for X11 rather than stress about making the next panel on-time.

What I hadn’t expected was a TeachMeet event on Thursday evening. This event was organized by Mags Amond, in coincidental celebration of her completion of her thesis on the TeachMeet phenomenon.

So, after trolling the Comedy Clubhouse for a week, I wound up grabbing an open-mic slot at after hours at CESIRE, a community center and makerspace.

I’ve adopted the auto-transcribed captions as my new response to the ubiquity of sending WhatsApp voice memos in Spain. You can send me a voice memo, but I’m sending a caption video back.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “TeachMeet at SnapCon

  1. Pingback: More GPT Tests | Tie And Jeans

Leave a comment